Discovery of Sheesh in Khatu
Following the delirious and majestic Mahabharata battle, Barbarika’s head (Sheesh) was buried in the village named Khatu located in Sikar District. The location was obscure until after the Kaliyuga period began. Then the incident which made villagers unearth Barbarik’s head happened, when a cow came near to the burial spot, milk started flowing suddenly out of her udder. Surprised at the incident, the local villagers dug the spot the buried head of Barbarik was discovered.
The head was handed over to a Brahmin who worshiped it for many days.The king of Khatu at that time, Roopsingh Chauhan dreamt something bizarre which motivated him to build a temple and place the head there. Afterward, the temple was built and the idol was placed on the 11th day of the Shukla Paksha (bright half) of the month of Kartik. After establishing this temple countless miracles happened here and many worshippers pay their visits to khatushyamji temple to experience them.
Shyam Kund’s Story
There is another is another well-known story that is being sung in the legend of this miraculous temple stating the then ruler of Khatu Roop singh Chauhan’s wife, Narmada Kanwar dreamt in which she was being instructed by a holy being to unearth his idol. The indicated place (now known as ShyamKund) when then dug up. Sure enough, it yielded the idol, which was appropriately enshrined in the temple.
Khatu Temple History
Originally the temple was built in 1027 AD by Roop singh Chauhan and his wife Narmada Kanwar. In 1720 AD, Diwan Abhai Singh renovated the old templeon the command of ruler of Marwar. The temple took its present shape after the renovation and the idol was enshrined in the sanctum sanctorum. The idol is made of rare stone. Khatu Shyam is the family deity of a many families.The temple is constructed of pure white Makrana marble and is an example of unique architecture. The idol is in form of a head “SHISH” which appeared in the holy pond “ Shyam Kund” .
The “SHISH” was retrieved and was established in the temple. The temple is architecturally rich with Lime mortar marbles and tiles has been used in construction. The shutters of the sanctum sanctorum are beautifully covered with silver sheet. Outside is the prayer hall, named Jagmohan. its walls are highly painted reciting the legendary scenes. The entrance gate and exit gate are made of marble; their brackets are also of marble and feature ornamental floral designs Precincts.
There is an open space in front of the entrance gate of the temple. There is a garden near the temple named Shyambagicha from where flowers are plucked and are offered to the God. The Samadhi of Aloo Singh(a great devotee), is located within the garden. The Gopinath temple lies to the south- east of the main temple. The Gaurishankar Temple also lies nearby. There is an interesting tale associated with the Gaurishankar Temple. It is said that some soldiers of the Mughal emperor Aurangzeb wanted to destroy this temple. They attacked the Shiva lingam enshrined within this temple with their spears. Immediately, fountains of blood appeared from the Shiva Linga. The soldiers ran away, terrified and the marks of spears can still be seen the mark on the Lingam.